I am Emma. Hear me roar.

Image

I am not very good at starting things.

Probably because I am a perfectionist. I’m the type of person who hates trying new things because I’m afraid of not doing it right the first time. Empty journals fill a couple shelves of my bookcase due to my self-imposed idea that the opening entry should have fascinating, breath-taking, multi-million-dollar-movie-opening-line quality.

However, due to a desire to express, a drive to achieve, a dedication to better myself, and a little bit of peer pressure, I’ve finally bit the bullet and started this blog (after a month or two of trying to come up with just the right blog name. Hence, the name.)

_______________________________________________________________________________

I never understood it when people would tell me that they spent their college years “discovering who they were.” As a teenager, I couldn’t figure out how one didn’t know one’s identity. It seemed like a pretty easy thing to know.

“I am Emma. I am female, prone to emotional outbreaks and clumsiness. Hide your cereal and milk. My hobbies are X, Y, and Z. Do not ask me to repeat this message.”

Although now that I am 21 and halfway through a bachelor’s degree, I totally understand.

I found online personality tests.

Suddenly, the answers were all there! Why am I this way? What are my strengths? My weaknesses? My relationship tendencies? All of these questions (and more) were answered right on my computer screen. And alarmingly, every time I took a test, the results were always pretty accurate.

Apparently, I am a Type A. My Myers-Briggs type is ESTJ. My strengths in leadership are Individualization, Strategic, Competition, Includer, and Activator (go here for the full list of strengths and their descriptions).

I can’t get enough! I love to study personalities, and not just my own. After I discovered my Myers-Briggs type, I had all of my coworkers and boss take the exam too, just so I could analyze how they operate.

At the end of the day though, I guess it doesn’t really matter. I’m the only me there is, and that’s more than enough for this world to handle.

3 thoughts on “I am Emma. Hear me roar.

  1. We all recently took Myers-Briggs tests at our house too. Daniel started it by taking one for a Psychology class and the rest of us followed suit. Greg is also an ESTJ: loyal and responsible, with little patience for incompetence and a desire to bring order and efficiency to his environment. Not surprised you are the same. You’re obviously very determined and hardworking. Looking forward to more posts from you.

  2. Meyers-Briggs is cool (INFJ), but Strengths finder is my jam! My top five are Empathy, Strategic, Development, Input, and Futuristic. 🙂 Thanks for following me!

Leave a Reply

